Colorado Fair Housing Act Turns 60!

Let's celebrate Fair Housing month, on April 10th, 1959 Colorado became the first state in the nation to pass fair housing laws. Sixty years later, Colorado’s Fair Housing laws prohibit discrimination based on Disability, race, creed, color, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, marital status, familial status, religion, national origin, or ancestry. Colorado’s fair housing laws even predate federal fair housing laws- Title VII of the Civil Rights Act, also known as the Fair Housing Act (FHA) will be 51 years old on April 11th. 

04/12/2022 READ MORE

Housing For All

Having a place to call home that we own remains a cornerstone of the American Dream.  Home signifies safety and stability for many people and impacts where families send their children to school, where people work, and how they get to work. Homeownership boosts household wealth through equity and appreciation, and over time, provides many other social and economic benefits. Unfortunately, not all people have enjoyed equal access to homeownership, our country’s history has resulted in people experiencing housing discrimination due to their race, gender, national origin, the color of their skin, religion, sexual orientation, disability, or familial status. It is the responsibility of our community to ensure that every person who desires to rent or purchase housing is able to do so without bias or discrimination. Believe fairness is worth fighting for.

11/16/2021 READ MORE

Fair Housing Act

Fair Housing Act is set in place to bring an end to the widespread discrimination in housing and allowing for fair and equal opportunity to access property ownership. To the National Association of Realtors, Fair housing is more than a list of dos and don’ts, rights and penalties, and mandatory continuing education. The right to own, use and transfer private property, fair housing protects our livelihood and depends on a free, open market that embraces equal opportunity. NAR opposes discrimination in housing based on race, color, religion, sex, handicap, familial status sexual orientation, gender identity, and national origin. This means equal treatment will be given when renting, selling, negotiating a housing property.

09/22/2021 READ MORE